Estonian Design week

Meanwhile in Tallinn 12.-18.09. we had the annual Design week or as we call in Estonian “Design night” festival: http://www.tallinndesignfestival.com/

designnight-pa%cc%88is

I have the feeling, that I didn’t participate much this year, however, now when sorting the photos from the events I attended -> forget the last sentence, I actually did quite a lot 🙂

First off the week for me started with: EKA Teaduskohvik (Estonian Academy of Arts Science Café) well, the only thing that stood out for me in the description were words like: design.. performers.. designer.. debate..  – so I was sold and didn’t read much further.. which was kinda a mistake 🙂 cause as the title says, the focus of the event was mainly on the science and was pretty theoretical and left me rather emotionless.

But hi, there’s always a bright side to everything, while my mind went wondering, I noticed those cool blue chairs in the Must Puudel cafe, where the seminar was hold 😛 It looks like a soft aerobics ball, but noup, it’s actually strong plastic, covered with black soft thing under your sitting!

• My second event was the opening event at Helios cinema. Which is an old cinema in the medieval part of Tallinn, right in the old town. The place is old and looks quite abandoned, so it’s a perfect place for throwing a creative madness-mysterious design event. They had posters, furniture pieces, jewelry, installations, dreamy singer and light show on the walls, this is how it looked like:

helios2

I especially liked how they digitally painted the wall!

• On thursday I attended the PechaKucha night – list of performers, who each get to present 20 slides, each stays on the screen for 20 seconds! It was my first time attending this format and I liked the concept! Though it’s always sad, when there’s this one person, who has missed the memo and has no idea about the whole concept..

On the right you can spot me and Hille 😉

Fun fact since PechaKucha happened in the same place as few hours later the fanciest event in the Estonian designworld – Award gala, we somehow accidentaly almost were part of half of the awards ceremony.. happens, if you loose yourself chatting 😂

**Since Kultuurikatel is an old, renovated building, we even witnessed the typical accidental stuff like firealarm starting to work during the show, making few automatic doors close down, while ripping off the photo wall and closing in some persons bags and belongings.. side-fun

I didn’t took part from the gala, but joined the happy people in the afterparty and this time,  the organisers had rented the newly renovated trainstation waiting building in Balti Jaam and made the whole party in a glass box – very cool! And you could see from the outside approximately how many attendees there are, so (Y) (Y) points for that : D
balti-jaama-a%cc%88ftekasafterparty-baltas1

• On Saturday I made it to a seminar called “I am a designer” also held in Kultuurikatel. There were 5 different designers presenting their works and projects or just talking about their design principles. Was quite interesting and I’m always curious to see, what others are working on, so definitely one of my favorite.

 

Kultuurikatel building itself had a huge design bazaar, loads of smaller and bigger creative industry entrepreuners selling their creations and interacting with clients.

disainita%cc%88nav

Lately I’m always astonished how many small makers we have and how many side-preneurs! It’s cool to see, how entrepreneurial so many Estonians are, but sad to see, how similar everything looks – wooden lasercutted earrings, ceramical mugs, leather wallets, wooden ties, expensive gemstone jewlery etc – I mean, when I went to a design fair in Austria, the outlook was exactly the same.

• Now there is no Design night without exhibitions and this year I spotted the “Austrian Design update” which I was so surprised to see and which understandably made me smile immediately! – it seems that Estonian Design world like the same countries as I do 😛
i.e. after my year in Belgium, there were Belgian guests!

austrian-design-update-1austrian-design-update

This gallery was filled with various industrial and product design pieces from Austrian more and less known designers. Even the national trains companies ÖBB train design was represented on the posters!
me likes
😎

Leave a comment